Canine Cuisine

Dilemma: Dogs ran out of food last night and Shiloh was lying by his bowl this morning, a clear sign if any that it was time for breakfast, dammit. As I was feeling too lazy to change out of my pajamas and my husband was out working and not able to swing by the store on his way home for several hours yet, I was presented with a minor dilemma.

Could I have simply scrambled, or – easier still – nuked some eggs? Sure. But this was a morning for a little more class. Enter Bone Appetit: Gourmet Cooking for your Dog, by Suzan Anson. This was a morning for Doggie French Toast….with a little Milk Bone garnish.

Recipe:

  • 3-4 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1/2 loaf old bread, (I shredded old white bread, Rye, and Dutch Crackle Bread – we have a certain preoccupation with bread in our home)  cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 4 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp cinammon

**Per the book’s suggestion, which I followed, you can make “cheese french toast” by substituting the cinnamon with 1/2 cup shredded cheese – I used  a bit of Monterrey jack and a bit of mild cheddar.  Of course you could go a little higher rent and use Gruyère, Muenster, etc. but like I said, it was a lazy morning and I used the pre-shredded assortment.  I doubt the dogs mind.

Melt butter over medium heat.  Add bread and cook, tossing bread occasionally so that it browns lightly and evenly.  In a medium bowl, beat eggs with milk and cinammon cheese.  Pour egg mixture over bread and fry until bread is well browned.

This served my large husky and medium border collie.  You can probably freeze it if you have a smaller dog for future meals.  A good way to put old bread to use besides promising yourself you’ll go to a duck pond one day…

Big Boy ready for breakfast!
Shiloh waits...somewhat patiently

Hera finds the "serving dish"
Caution: This meal may make your dog partially invisible
!
Leave a Reply

